A greeting

Hello, my name is St. Bastard and I am an atheist. You’ll have to forgive me, but I’m watching the original Night of the Living Dead as I write this, so I may wander a bit in my writing, such as it is.

I’m not only an atheist. So few of us are. I am, in no particular order, a Secular Humanist, a husband, a father, a nerd, a fan of science, and of course, a Bastard. I have started this blog in order to more freely speak my mind without the constraints of diplomacy that we all indulge in polite company.

So what the hell does that mean? Well, we’ve all been there; an offhand comment by a friend, family member, or acquaintance that they’ll pray for you, thanking god for good fortune, or bowing to their perceived will of their savior. Internally, our eyes roll, but after the thousandth time really you just want to smack the christ out of them.

But, we love our loved ones and don’t want to attack an acquaintance, right? Hyperbolic violence aside, we would at least like to tell them that their prayers are nice, but useless. We’d like to tell them that it’s been proven so, and that their good fortune is just that, and not through the attention of some all-powerful being. We’d also like to add that they’re being a little bit self-involved to think that god wanted them to find a crumpled finn on the side of the road while thousands die of starvation every day.

Allow me to give you an example: I have a relative living in Saudi Arabia on a little walled compound while he does contract work for the military. This relative used to be a hard-core Everquest player and wanted to play World of Warcraft with me while he was overseas. However, the network he uses blocks access to the game and his comment to me was, “Well, I guess god just didn’t want me to play WoW.” This was one of those moments where I wanted to smack a religious person due to their hubris.

But, I didn’t because I love the idiot and also my arm wasn’t long enough. So, this will be my outlet where I can say what I like about superstition, religion, quackery and all that other bullshit without have to edit myself to avoid offending a loved one.

So, there it is. I hope it entertains!

-St. Bastard

Leave a Reply

